May, 2014

Independent Girl's Backpacker Diaries - Traveling Light with LIVA

I am usually busy with online auctions in the south so when I eventually managed to take some time off for a backpacking tour of Taipei, I wanted to travel light while staying "connected". I poked around the shops and the Mini PC seemed to be the answer.

 

After shopping around, I eventually settled on the LIVA from ECS because it was compact and affordable – It cost less than NT$5,000, this was a deal too good to be missed. When I got home and opened the box, I found that the LIVA was quite easy to assemble and took up no space. Once it was hooked up to the TV I could surf the net and do word processing just as if was a normal PC. My online auctions could now move out of my room and into the comforts offered by the spacious lounge room and large TV ^^

 


The LIVA came in a quite colorful packaging ^^

 

Going on a Trip - Independent Girl's Backpacker Diaries

Instead of the bulky notebook, I decided to take my new LIVA with me to do all the value-adding on my backpacker trip.

 

After confirming with the hotel that they have Internet access and their TV has an HDMI port, I stuffed the LIVA, HDMI cable, keyboard and mouse into a small bag. Once the bag and my spare clothes were in my side backpack, it was time to set off.

 

 

 


The LIVA is light, portable and can be packed into a single side backpack along with other items.

 

It was past 9AM when I reached Taipei so I planned an itinerary with sights that could be reached by UBike and the MRT and then got started. First, I visited Tamsui Old Street to catch the cool sea breeze and get something to eat. I wondered around until 2PM then headed over to Taipei 101. Looking up from the foot of Taipei 101 was an awe-inspiring experience. Next, I went shopping in the East District to enjoy the fun of "splurging out" XD. My last stop before heading back to the bed & breakfast was the Shilin Night Market (how can you visit Taipei without touring a night market?). Since the bed & breakfast was near the night market, it was really convenient. There were a lot of people but being a food lover, I had no trouble eating and drinking to my heart's content.

 


Riding the UBike made me feel even more like a backpacker

 


Eating and drinking in and around Shilin Night Market

 

After eating, I returned content to the bed & breakfast to call it a night. The bed & breakfast was quite reasonably priced for Taipei. It had a resort-like ambience and even the bathroom had a special design, giving it a really high CP-ratio.

 

 

After inspecting my room, I took out the LIVA with much excitement in order to upload all the pretty photos I took today to Google Drive and post a few on Facebook to show-off.
There was just one problem - the hotel's power socket was too far away from the TV. I had an idea though - I took out my power bank and tried to power up with that and it actually worked. The LIVA consumes just 15W of power so it is really energy-saving.

 

I quickly hooked LIVA up to the peripherals (it took less than 3 minutes) and voila, I basically had a compact PC on my hands.

 

 


Powering up with a power bank

 

I was immediately truck by how quickly LIVA booted up because I was at the Windows interface in a flash. As LIVA supports 802.11 b/g/n Wi-Fi cards, surfing the Internet and file transfers were all really easy because Wi-Fi is used so extensively in Taipei. The LIVA has 32GB of internal memory that I use to store frequently used information/multimedia. I use Google Drive to store all of my other random stuff because you receive 15GB of cloud storage space when you apply for a Google account. Uploading your data to Google Drive seems like a good choice to make the most of LIVA's memory. After sorting through the photos, I started uploading.

 

I don't like extra hassles so I didn't bring my external HDD or USB drive on this trip. You may want to bring them if you need more space. Remember to connect external HDD or USB drives that support USB 3.0 to the USB 3.0 port (blue color) on the LIVA because this will speed up the transfer~!

 


Uploading photos to Google Drive

 

After uploading my photos, I had nothing to do so I used it to watch online videos. The videos loaded very smoothly and there was absolutely no lag. Everything went perfectly except for the fact that I didn't buy any midnight snacks!

 


Snapshot of Youtube video

 

After kicking back and watching an episode of TV, I was beginning to feel a little sleepy. I was about to hit the bed when I remembered that I forgot to check my auctions . I immediately rushed through the customer feedback and confirmed a few orders. Hey, what can I say? The ability to make money away from home is what independent girls are good at. Good night zzZ~

 

I wrote this post to share my insights so I won't link back to my personal auctions here. If you are really interested though, check out the "Cosmetics" category~

 

This backpacker trip was a great success. LIVA was of really helpful to a Net addict like me. Being able to work away from home and costing less than NT$5,000 makes it a great bargain. I am already looking forward to planning my next trip and the LIVA will naturally be top of the list when deciding what devices to take with me next time.

 

PS. The LIVA's peripherals include a really cute speaker. If you want one for free, remember to follow the ECS website at www.ecs.com.tw. (I am told there will be a lucky draw so stay tuned. I am already plotting to get my hands on one for my next trip ^^)

 

Light, compact and cute speaker

Use Facebook comments

※ Q&A is not available here. If you have any product questions, please visit the Official fan page or Technical support.

˄TOP

May, 2014

小資女的背包客日誌-輕便旅用LIVA帶著走

平常在南部忙著做網拍,好不容易可以忙裡偷閒來個台北背包客之旅,想當個輕便的背包客但又是個超級”上網”控,只好找些可以滿足需求的產品,特地到商場晃了一圈,發現Mini PC似乎是個不錯的選擇。

 

比較後找到最符合體積輕巧、價格實惠的是ECS的LIVA-價格不到5000元,終於捨得花下手了!! 在家開箱後,發現它蠻容易組裝,而且很不佔空間,接上家中電視就可比照一般PC做上網、文書處理等應用,所以我的網拍也可從房間移到舒適的大客廳、大電視來做行銷囉 ^^

 


新入手的LIVA,彩盒也頗有質感的 ^^

 

旅用攜帶-小資族的背包客日誌

捨棄了以往必帶大台又笨重的Notebook,這次決定帶上新入手的LIVA,這趟背包客之旅的附加價值就要看它了

 

跟飯店確認好電視有HDMI插孔、網路後,我再把LIVA、HDMI線、鍵盤及滑鼠塞進小包,然後連同衣物放進側背包就出發囉!

 

 

 


LIVA輕巧好帶,再加上塞其他東西,一個側背包搞定

 

到達台北已經早上九點多,行程就以Ubike、捷運會到的景點做規劃,開始今天的旅行~首先就來造訪淡水老街,吹吹清涼的海風,順道來解決口腹之慾;逛到下午約二點就轉攻台北101,站在它的腳下仰望,真的感受到不小的震撼呀;接著又來到東區逛街享受”花錢”的樂趣 XD。回民宿前最後的行程就是士林夜市(來台北怎麼能不逛夜市呢?),尤其夜市又在民宿附近,整個超方便,雖說人多擠來擠去,但大胃王的我一樣吃喝的很滿足~

 


騎上Ubike, 更像背包客的感覺

 


士林夜市美食吃吃喝喝

 

吃飽喝足後,就心滿意足的回到民宿休息。這間民宿以台北來說算是高貴不貴,很有渡假風情的Fu,就連浴室也有特別設計,CP值真的很高!

 

 

參觀完房間,為了快點把今天拍的美照上傳到Google Drive,順便分享幾張到Facebook炫耀,於是我就興奮的拿出LIVA。 不過,卻遇到個窘境--飯店插座離電視太遠!!,突然臨機一動想到個方法~拿出隨身攜帶的行動電源嘗試開機,結果真的可以~!!重點是LIVA只有15瓦特,非常省電啊!

 

快速將LIVA裝上週邊配備 (花不到三分鐘呀~),哪~就是一台輕巧型個人PC

 

 


行動電源開機圖

 

開機速度快,這是LIVA給我的第一印象,立即進入Windows 介面;而因LIVA有支援802.11 b/g/n 的WIFI卡,在WIFI算普遍的台北使用,上網、傳輸都很方便。LIVA內建記憶體容量為32GB,我拿來儲存較常看的資料/影音;然而Google Drive就是讓我可以儲存雜七雜八資料的空間,原因是只需申請Google 帳號就可享有15GB的雲端硬碟,所以為了更有效運用LIVA記憶體,將資料上傳到Google Drive似乎是個不錯的選擇。花點時間整理好照片,就開始上傳囉。

 

因本人講求便利,故這次外出就不帶外接式硬碟或USB,有更大需求的朋友請自行斟酌攜帶;還有,請記得將有支援USB 3.0的外接式硬碟或USB插在LIVA的USB3.0 Port (藍色插槽),可以加快傳輸速度唷~!

 


Google Drive上傳美照

 

上傳完照片後,閒來沒事就來看線上影音打發時間,影片Loading速度流暢,不會Lag,只差沒有買宵夜,不然感覺超愜意!

 


來自Youtube的影片圖

 

慵懶的看完了一集電視節目,已經有點暈暈欲睡了,正想要倒頭大睡之時,突然想起還沒看網拍 ,所以還是快速回完客戶留言,接接訂單,只能說出門在外也能兼顧賺錢,這就是小資女厲害的地方呀 XD安心入睡,晚安 zzZ

 

這篇是來分享心得,所以就不宣傳我個人的網拍,但大家有興趣可以點選”化妝品類”唷

 

這次的背包客行程很成功,有LIVA的幫忙讓上網控的我方便許多,而且在家外出都可工作使用,價格5000元有找,CP值挺高的~!! 我開始迫不及待的要規畫下一次的旅行了!! 想當然下次要帶的配備首選還是LIVA囉~

 

Ps. LIVA的週邊配備還有Speaker,造型超可愛,想免費擁有它的朋友可以隨時Follow ECS官網 www.ecs.com.tw (聽說之後會有抽獎活動,大家不妨拭目以待吧,我已經準備搶來下次旅行用了 ^^)

 

造型輕巧可愛的Speaker

使用Facebook留言

※ 本功能不提供問題諮詢,若您有產品相關問題,請至 官方粉絲專頁技術支援

˄TOP