May, 2014

ECS LIVA Mini-Computer: "Compact, Energy-Saving and Quiet" Home Entertainment System with Intel Bay Trail-M Core

Watching movies and TV programs on a large TV screen usually offers better visual enjoyment than a computer, mobile phone or tablet. While video playback, picture galleries and Internet access have gradually become basic LCD TV functions, there are still many limitations when it comes to video formats and user interface.

 

Some fellow netizens may have run into problems like scrambled subtitles or using a TV remote to enter a long URL; building a Home Theater PC (HTPC) so you can use a wireless mouse and keyboard to play the videos you want on a computer and output the video via HDMI to a large screen is not just simple and convenient, it also gives you more flexibility with what software to use.

 

Interior designers usually don't give much space to the TV cabinet in the living room. A HTPC must therefore not only offer smooth video playback but also take size and cooling into account.

 

 

There are now a variety of motherboards designed for mini-PCs on the market such as the microATX and miniATX standard. ECS recently introduced a mini-computer it calls LIVA that is very compact, energy-saving and quiet. Let's take a look.

 

The ECS LIVA uses an Intel Bay Trail-M processor. The motherboard has 2GB of integrated DDR3L RAM and 32GB EMMC for storage. This means there is no need for the user to purchase more memory or a separate hard disk. The LIVA is a complete computer that can be assembled, booted up and put into service.

 


 

Open the box and it says "LIVA", short for "Living a Better Life".

 

 

In keeping with the DIY spirit of HTPC, the ECS LIVA does not come as a fully-assembled product. The user must follow the simple instructions in the LIVA Mini PC kit and assemble it.

 

 

The contents of the box can be divided into two types: LIVA parts and non-LIVA parts. Pictured below are non-LIVA parts, namely the LIVA Mini PC kit assembly instructions, user’s guide, driver CD and LIVA transformer.

 


 

The LIVA parts from left to right are wireless and Bluetooth antenna, LIVA motherboard, M.2 standard wireless network expansion card. The LIVA case is at the back.

 


 

The LIVA motherboard is very small - about the size of a mobile phone with a 5" display; the transformer is the same as those used by mobile devices on the market and is in the micro USB format. You can actually skip the assembly process altogether. Just hook the LIVA motherboard up to the transformer, screen, mouse and keyboard and it's ready to go)

 

 

The reverse side of the LIVA motherboard is the M.2 wireless network slot; to save space, the motherboard battery is connected externally. Two DDR3L memory chips are located in the lower right.

 

 

Remove the heat sink and you'll find the Intel Bay Trail-M integrated chipset in the middle. Storage uses 32GB eMMC manufactured by SanDisk, the 2GB of DDR3L memory is manufactured by Hynix and sound consists of stereo output provided by a Realtek ALC282 chip.

 


 

To install LIVA in its case, start by placing the rear I/O interface into the case and then apply pressure from the power supply side at the front. The LIVA motherboard will then click into place with no screws required.

 

 

Shown here is the fully-assembled ECS LIVA mini-PC. The dimensions are 118 x 70 x 56 (mm) and it weights 190g, about the same as a smartphone.

 


 

The rear I/O of the LIVA includes one HDMI and one D-SUB output for video; the network port uses a RTL8111G chip with Gigabit support; there is one USB 2.0 port and one USB 3.0 port; the power supply interface is a micro USB.

 

 

When you place the ECS LIVA inside the TV cabinet it looks positively tiny in this cramped space. It is far smaller than the CHT MOD box for example

 

 

A high-definition 1920 x 1080 video was played as a test
ECS LIVA can smoothly play videos with a BitRate of up to 40 mbps. Sound can also be outputted directly to the amplifier in the home theater system via HDMI (the video is the demo from HDclub)

 

 

Another advantage of using the HTPC is that you can install your preferred software to play online content; Apple's iTunes software, for example, is very convenient because you can watch online movies on demand. The playback from LIVA is also very smooth. As you can see, the CPU utilization rate in the picture is not very high so LIVA has more than enough power for video playback.

 

 

Bay Trail is the multi-core System-on-Chip (SoC) product family introduced by Intel last year and targeted at mobile devices and AIO (All-in-One) products. It comes in three flavors: "Bay Trail-T", "Bay Trail-M" and "Bay Trail-D" and these use the Intel® Atom™, Intel® Celeron® and Intel® Pentium® brands respectively.


When the CPU-Z software is used to read actual ECS LIVA specifications, you can see that LIVA uses Celeron N2806, a "Bay Trail-M" dual-core CPU clocked at 1.58GHz and can be automatically stepped up to 2.0GHz. and TDP is 4.5W. The 2GB of DDR3L runs at a clock of 1066MHz.

 

Fritiz Chess Benchmark score: 1587
Nuclearus Multi Core score: 3747
CPU Mark score: 168
The 32GB eMMC's sequential read and write speeds are 126.1 MB/s and 44.28 MB/s respectively.
Idle temperature: 49
Burn-in temperature: 52

 

These benchmark results are sufficient for tasks like Internet browsing and word processing. The system temperature is not particularly high when the system is under full load, so there is no need to worry about thermal crashes.

 

 

According to the official specifications from Intel, the TDP for Celeron N2806 is 4.5W; the ECS website also says that the LIVA mini-PC can be run off a power bank. Is it really that energy-efficient? Let's put it to the test.

 

Power consumption while idling was 3W

 

Power consumption during burn-in was 5W. Compared with conventional PCs with an average power consumption of 60W or more, the LIVA is not just energy-saving - it is extremely energy-saving.

 

Let's go over the LIVA specifications again. LIVA uses the Intel Bay Trail-M processor with 2GB of DDR3L memory, 32GB of EMMC storage, support for Gigabit wired networking, 80211 a/b/g/n wireless networking and Bluetooth 4.0. DIY. HTPCs may offer better performance and more hardware scalability, but the LIVA mini-PC from ECS has a commanding advantage in terms of "size", "energy-saving" and "quietness".

 

118 x 70 x 56 (mm) is about 5 inches wide and weighs 190g, which means the LIVA can be placed practically anywhere; the above tests showed that the LIVA already offers plenty of performance for everyday video playback and word processing.

 

Because LIVA uses a heat sink-only design there is absolutely no noise from the cooling fan, providing a better audio environment for movies; there is also no annoying fan noise when the LIVA is used in a quiet environment.

 

The only real limitation is the 32GB of storage. To play large video files or store large amounts of files, an external HDD must be connected to the rear USB 3.0 port.

 

LIVA's energy-efficiency is well worth a mention. Just how efficient is it? Assuming a power consumption of 5W, LIVA uses just 1 KWH if run continuously for 8 days. If 1 KWH costs NT$5, the LIVA can be run non-stop for less than NT$20 a month. Being so energy-saving, non-stop operation gives LIVA many other potential applications. Apart from being used as a HTPC, it can be used as a web server, DLNA server for wireless video streaming and more. With a little creativity and imagination, the LIVAis much more than just a mini-PC.

Use Facebook comments

※ Q&A is not available here. If you have any product questions, please visit the Official fan page or Technical support.

˄TOP

May, 2014

Intel Bay Trail-M核心,極致「小巧、省電、靜音」的家庭影音成員 ECS LIVA 微型電腦

相較於電腦、手機或平板,使用大螢幕的電視來欣賞電影、節目,往往能帶來更棒的視覺享受!播放影音、圖片及上網功能漸漸成為液晶電視的基本能力,但是在影片格式及操作方式上,卻有著許多限制。

 

或許網友們也有影片字幕亂碼、使用電視遙控器輸入一長串網址的經驗;打造一台 Home theater PC (HTPC) ,利用無線鍵盤滑鼠操作電腦,播放想看的影音內容,將視訊透過HDMI輸出到大螢幕的電視上,不僅簡單方便,在軟體選用上也有著更好的彈性。

 

通常在設計裝潢客廳時,電視櫃不會預留太大的空間; HTPC必須要能流暢播放影片之外,它的體積大小、散熱能力也是必考量的

 

 

市面上有許多專為小電腦推出的主機板,像是microATX、miniATX規格;精英電腦在近期推出一台名為LIVA的微型電腦,體積極小,更兼具省電、靜音的優勢,現在就讓我們來看看。

 

ECS LIVA使用的是 Intel Bay Trail-M處理器,在主板上直接整合2GB DDR3L的記憶體、32GB EMMC的儲存空間。意即使用者不需要購買額外的記憶體與硬碟,LIVA就是一台完整的電腦,組裝完成開機就可使用。

 


 

打開外盒,上面寫著LIVA 名稱是由Living A Better Life整合而來。

 

 

為了保留DIY打造 HTPC的精神,ECS LIVA 不是一台已經組裝完成的產品,使用者必須依照LIVA Mini PC kit上的組裝說明,一步一步組裝起來,過程簡單容易。

 

 

盒中的物品可以分為兩種類,LIVA的零組件、非LIVA的組件;下圖為非LIVA的組件,分別為LIVA Mini PC kit組裝說明、使用說明、驅動程式光碟,LIVA所使用的變壓器

 


 

LIVA的零組件由左而右為,無線、藍芽網路天線,LIVA主機板,M.2規格的無線網路擴充卡,後方則是LIVA的機殼。

 


 

LIVA的主板尺寸非常的小,約略相同於五吋螢幕的手機;變壓器與市面上常見的行動裝置充電器相同,使用micro USB的規格。(若不組裝,其實只需將LIVA主機板接上變壓器、螢幕、鍵盤滑鼠就能使用了)

 

 

LIVA主板的背面則有M.2規格的無線網路傳輸介面;為了節省主板上的空間,主板上的電池使用外接的方式,右下方為兩個DDR3L的記憶體顆粒

 

 

拆下散熱片,中央為Intel Bay Trail-M整合晶片組,儲存空間使用SanDisk 製造的32GB eMMC、2GB的DDR3L記憶體由Hynix製造,音效的部分由Realtek ALC282晶片提供兩聲道輸出。

 


 

安裝進機盒時,先將後放I/0介面放入機盒,再從前方電源側壓入,就會有卡榫將LIVA主板卡住,完全不需要螺絲。

 

 

圖片為ECS LIVA 微型電腦組裝後的樣子,尺寸為118 x 70 x 56 (mm),重量約為190克,與智慧型手機差不多。

 


 

LIVA的後方傳輸介面,視訊部分提供一組HDMI、一組D-SUB、有線網路支援Gigabit的頻寬使用RTL8111G晶片,一組USB 2.0、一組USB 3.0,電源輸入介面為micro USB規格。

 

 

實際將ECS LIVA放進電視櫃,在這擁擠的空間中,LIVA顯得非常迷你:比起中華電信的MOD主機,LIVA小巧許多。

 

 

實際播放1920X1080的高畫質影片進行測試
ECS LIVA可以流暢播放BitRate高達40mbps的影片,聲音的部分也可以透過HDMI,直接輸出至家庭劇院的擴大機 (影片為HDclub之展示影片)

 

 

使用HTPC的另一個好處,就是可以依喜好安裝軟體,播放線上內容;像是蘋果的iTunes軟體,在線上付費後就可以直接觀看電影,非常方便!當然LIVA也能流暢的播放,圖中可以看到CPU使用率並不高,表示LIVA的性能在播放影片上是非常足夠的。

 

 

Bay Trail 是Intel於去年發表的多核系統單晶片 (SoC) 系列產品,主要鎖定於行動裝置及AIO (all-in-one)產品,其中分為「Bay Trail-T」、「Bay Trail–M」與「Bay Trail-D」,分別使用 Intel® Atom™ 、 Intel® Celeron® 與 Intel® Pentium®品牌標誌。

 

使用CPU-Z軟體實際讀出ECS LIVA的規格,可以看到LIVA的採用「Bay Trail–M」中的Celeron N2806,雙核心處理器,時脈為1.58GHz,可以自動加速至2.0GHz,TDP為4.5W。2GB的DDR3L運作時脈為1066MHz。

 

Fritiz Chess Benchmark 跑分為:1587
Nuclearus Multi Core跑分為:3747
CPU Mark跑分為:168
32GB EMMC的循序讀寫能力分別為126.1MB/s和44.28MB/s
待機溫度:49
燒機溫度:52

 

這樣的跑分成績已經足以勝任網路瀏覽、文書處理之類的任務;即使系統滿載運作溫度不算太高,不需要擔心熱當機的問題。

 

 

根據Intel的官方規格,Celeron N2806的TDP為4.5W;而ECS的官網也說明,LIVA微型電腦僅需要行動電源就可以開機運作,真的有這麼省電嗎?讓我們來實際測量

 

待機時的耗電量為3W

 

燒機時的耗電量為5W。與一般個人電腦平均60W以上的功耗比較起來,LIVA不只是省電,而且是非常省電

 

讓我們再看一次LIVA的規格,LIVA使用 Intel Bay Trail-M處理器、記憶體為2GB DDR3L、儲存空間為32GB EMMC,支援Gigabit有線網路、 802.11 a/b/g/n無線網路及Bluetooth 4.0 藍芽;或許,自行組裝的HTPC在效能上能有更好的表現,硬體方面也能有更多擴充性;但是ECS推出的 LIVA 微型電腦卻在體積「小巧」、「省電」、「靜音」三個方面佔有極度優勢。

 

118 x 70 x 56 (mm)大約 5吋左右的寬度,190克的重量,使得LIVA可以輕鬆容易找到擺放空間;若是平日是以影音撥放,文書上網為主,在上方中的測試中可以看到, LIVA的效能已非常足夠。

 

LIVA 僅使用散熱片的設計,可以完全去除散熱風扇造成的噪音,讓觀賞電影時有更佳的聽覺環境;在安靜的環境中使用LIVA也不會因風扇聲音而被干擾。

 

較可惜的是受限於32GB儲存容量的限制,若是要播放大型影片檔案或是儲存大量檔案就只能靠後方的USB 3.0外接硬碟來做擴充。

 

最後值得一提的是,LIVA非常省電,這是怎樣的一個概念呢? 以耗電量5W來算,LIVA連續開機8天僅需要一度電,若是一度電價為5元,LIVA連續一個月不關機,也僅需要不到20元的電費。這樣的省電,連續不關機的概念使得LIVA能有許多應用;除了可以當HTPC,它還可以當網頁伺服器、DLNA Server無線串流影音…等等許多應用。只要發揮想像力與創意,LIVA就不只是簡單的一台微電腦。

使用Facebook留言

※ 本功能不提供問題諮詢,若您有產品相關問題,請至 官方粉絲專頁技術支援

˄TOP