Oct, 2014

Lightweight PK Champion - ECS Z97-PK motherboard)

                                                           

The 20th anniversary edition processor recently introduced by Intel reminds us not only the rush of time but also the progress achieved by Intel along the time. It was about 10 years ago that Intel and AMD competed with each other. At that time, AMD had its advantage on overclocking technology and forced Intel to play the catching-up. But, since then, Intel’s process miraculously became more advanced and brought us a serious of low power-consuming processor products whose performance easily surpassed that of AMD processors without the need of overclocking, which consequently has put the overclocking technology out of fashion. The 20th anniversary edition processor is of Intel Pentium series, code-named G3258, and is an unlocked one. When I held this latest unlocked processor in hand for the first-time, I knew that I had to shop a nice motherboard for it. As I was strolling and shopping around, I came to notice this boxing PK victory motherboard advertising - showing that the motherboard is a Z97 chipset one and, most important, is delightfully inexpensive. I bought one, made some tests with it, and got results greatly exceeded my expectations. I will show you what I found.


 

【Physical appearance】

This motherboard is the version specially dedicated to and designed for the 20th anniversary processor G3258.

 

On its retro appearance, there are 6 fixing holes for screwing it to a small Micro ATX form factor chassis, and a CPU socket supporting LGA package CPUs including the 20th anniversary Pentium CPU G3258 (which has 1150 pins).

 

【Performance Test】

After finishing the hardware installation, the first thing to do is setting the BIOS. ECS Z97-PK’s BIOS provides two interface options: one is EZ-mode, and the other is Advanced mode. The EZ-mode looks very refreshing with a sense of technology. It provides fewer options compared to the advanced mode, and allows you to overclock the processor in just a few steps.

 

The overclocking feature is being set to "Disabled", and the default clock speed for G3258 is 3200MHz.


The overclocking feature is being set to "High Performance", and the clock speed of G3258 can be up to 4400MHz.


Now it is being set to "Max Performance", the G3258 can be overclocked to as high as 4700MHz. Until now is for newbies, and if you want to make it to 5000MHz, you may need to adopt some tricks and to make some consideration for your heat sink.


It scores 800 in CPU Mark 99!


Usually it is sufficient to play heavyweight online games, such as Watch Dogs, if your system scores more than 13639 in PCMark05 and 5284 in 3DMark06. However, an independent graphics card is still recommended in order to unload the burden of your CPU!

 

It scores 19.32fps for its OpenGL performance and 321cb for its CPU performance in CINEBENCH R15 testing.

 

【Gaming experience】

With the Z97-PK motherboard, obviously you will have decent gaming performance easily if you use a middle-range graphics card and overclock the G3258 ! Here, I will make a bold attempt to play following heavy games using just the onboard graphics.

● Watch Dogs

Watch Dogs’ video clip taken from my ECS Z97-PK machine:

This game is indeed the most popular one of this year, its storyline is as good as that of Grand Theft Auto, and it has multi-platform versions. The protagonist is a character named Aiden, who is a hacker and fixer fighting crime and triads in Chicago. By adopting a new gaming engine derived from Ubisoft Montreal's latest scalable Disrupt engine, Watch Dogs successfully brings advanced graphics, special effects and technology into multiple platforms. Tests show that if you want to fully enjoy the highest settings of this game with no hardware anti-aliasing, you need to add a graphic card at least as good as GeForce GTX 770. You still can play the game with Intel’s onboard graphics (just like I have done here) but no way to play with the graphic detail such as reflections, shadows and waves. To enjoy the highest setting and hardware anti-aliasing quality, you need the fast SLI system. As I played the game, the picture quality was automatically detected by the system and set to lowest level that felt like playing an old generation game. In this case, in order to bring in more effects of ambient occlusion, level of detail, reflections, shaders, and water, you may need to reduce the screen resolution. It is worthy of praise that this game not only fully support the most highest-grade GPU but also older GPUs coming out such as four years ago.

 

● StarCraft2

StarCraft 2’s video clip taken from my ECS Z97-PK machine:

This game includes many effects using DirectX 9 and Pixel Shader 2.0. It is also fully compatible with DirectX 10, but eventually does not include any DirectX 10 exclusive effects. It uses Havok’s physics engine to let “debris objects slide down the slope” by which to enhance the efficiency of three-dimensional graphics. It also recently adds support to NVIDIA 3D Vision Technology. When playing an online game on the ECS Z97-PK machine, there is actually nothing to complain about except the network lag problem. The problem can be observed when you are playing with multiple players online. There are many motherboard providing optimized packet processing feature to cope with this problem, and this is what the ECS Z97-PK motherboard missing. Actually, the ECS Z97-PK motherboard can handle the game with four players online, and starts to miss some effects when the number of online-players reaches eight or more.

 

● Ultimate Street Fighter IV

Ultimate Street Fighter IV’s video clip taken from my ECS Z97-PK machine:

With the classic game “Ultimate Street Fighter IV” running on my ECS Z97-PK machine, the visual effects go so smooth with the resolution being set to 1920 X 1080 under the default game settings in which the vertical sync option is set to Enabled, the anti-aliasing is set to Disabled, the motion blur option is set to Low, the quality of model and stage are selected to High. This is mostly because the game is still designed as a 2D fighting game and less relies on a graphics card; however, it would be not that easy for my ECS Z97-PK machine if the game was a 3D game. This game, Ultimate Street Fighter IV, is the latest version of the popular fighting game Street Fighter 4, inherits and enhances the storyline of the previous version, readjusts the balance of capabilities for all characters, adds five new characters and six new fighting scenes, and provides several new fighting features such as “Double Ultra Combo”, “Red Saving Attack”, and “Delay Wake up”. Among all the characters, Poison is the one quickly grab the heart of all players for her super strength in attack and defense under her hot appearance.

 

● Speed 18

Speed 18’s video clip taken from my ECS Z97-PK machine:

This time I play Speed 18 on my ECS Z97-PK machine. This game uses a 3D engine designed for FPS shooting games – as known as Frostbite 2 Engine- and it proves that a racing game is obviously too much for onboard graphics to handle. Without an independent graphics card, the game cannot run smoothly enough for you to make necessary acceleration and cornering to avoid the fence or trees. If this happened in reality, I must have been killed in a car accident already. The major problem when you play this game with the onboard graphics is that the number of frames, FPS value, is set and fixed to 30, which is too low for the game to run smoothly. Furthermore, remember to upgrade DirectX to version 11.1 or above before trying this game!

 

【Reviews】

The ECS Z07-PK motherboard supports Intel’ i3 and i5 processors and no doubt has the best C/P among the Z97 chipset motherboards. When speaking of the latest 9-series chipsets, it is said that the X99 series is for heavyweight boxers and the Z97 is for lightweight. This leads to say that the ECS Z97-PK motherboard is Ippo (the leading character of a Japanese boxing manga “Hajime no Ippo (The First Step)”) for its astonishing overclocking potential hidden under the low-key and simple appearance. Respect it or get KO. The hardware quality of this motherboard looks quite good. It adopts not only the all high-grade solid capacitor motherboard design to enhance the operational stability, but also ECS’s exclusive Durathon Technology to boost the motherboard’s moisture resistance by introducing a bi-directional splitting glass fabric design. The motherboard has been tested with extreme temperature (-10℃~50℃) along with other 1500 duration tests. This significantly reduces the failure rate of the motherboard in regions of hot and humid climate, just like in Taiwan. Furthermore, the Z97-PK motherboard provides PCI-E 3.0 interface and three display outputs, along with supporting DDR3 memory up to 32GB and SATA3 interface up to 6Gb/s, to guarantee players a game environment with no performance lag. Only thing the motherboard missed is a M.2 interface that is considered of a great feature of the Z97. For software feature, the motherboard comes with the ECS’s exclusive EZ software package. In the package, eBLU & eDLU can online update the BIOS and drivers respectively, eOC together with eSF can help you on overclocking without your system crushing because of overheat, and EZ-charge can charge your mobile devices directly instead of using their dedicated chargers. The best thing about the EZ package is that all the included software utilities can run on Windows. I have performed some basic burn-in tests and play some games on the machine. In the burn-in tests, Most attempts to overclock the processor to 4700MHz succeed but fail in some conditions, and can be speeded up to and fairly stabilized at 4400MHz. Instead, it is easy to overclock you system to 4700MHz for gaming, and the games run smoothly even using the onboard graphics. I plan to upgrade this machine to my personal gaming platform by saving some money to add more memory, plug in a graphics card, and replace the system drive with a SSD one! After all the words have been spoken, there is only one question to be answered – how good is the price? According to the information available on the Internet, the price is around NT.2000. Speaking of performance and cost value, this motherboard is definitely the best match with Intel’s unlocked processor G3258! For more detail, please visit:

 

ECS official site: http://www.ecs.com.tw

ECS facebook site: https://www.facebook.com/ecstaiwan

˄TOP

Oct, 2014

輕量級PK的王者 –ECS Z97-PK 主機板

前一陣子,Intel推出了20週年款的CPU,這也讓人覺得時間過得好快,也看出Intel進步的幅度,大約10年前,Intel和AMD互有領先,但AMD就是贏在能夠超頻這點上,所以當時Intel只能當老二,隨著時間的演進,Intel似乎有如外星人加持一般,製程越來越先進,功耗越來越低,甚至不用超頻,效能就輕易超越對手,讓大家忘記超頻的趣味,這次推出20週年款的CPU,是Intel Pentium系列,代號為G3258,有了這顆不鎖超頻的CPU,當然也要配上相對應的主機板,筆者逛呀逛,看到這個拳擊PK大獲全勝的主機板廣告,而且還是採用Z97晶片組,最重要的是價格真的很優,買回來測試的結果也大大超出個人期望,當然從開箱開始一一分享囉




 

【實體外觀】

這款是針對Intel Pentium推出的20週年CPU:G3258而誕生的特別版。


擁有復古風格的ECS Z97-PK主機板適合6孔固定的Micro ATX板型小機殼,CPU底座支援LGA包裝的CPU,這次搭配的20週年Pentium CPU:G3258就是1150 Pin。

 

【性能測試】

安裝完硬體之後,第一件就是進行BIOS的設定,ECS Z97-PK BIOS有兩個mode的介面,一個為EZ-mode,另一個為Advanced mode,EZ-mode整個介面很清爽,頗有科技感,但能設定的選項相對比Advanced mode少,幾個設定就可完成基本的超頻。

 

圖Disable為不超頻,G3258預設時脈為3200MHz。

 

圖為選擇High Performance,可將G3258超到4400MHz。

 

圖為選擇Max Performance,可將G3258超到4700MHz。以上是屬於懶人的超頻玩法,若是想要輕鬆上5000MHz,可就要有些小技巧了,當然也和使用者的散熱裝置有關。

 

以CPU Mark 99跑分更高達800分呢!

 

一般來說,PCMark05在13639分以上、3DMark06在5284分以上的分數即可輕鬆應付 Watch Dogs等等的大型的線上遊戲,但仍建議搭配獨立顯示卡進行遊戲,避免CPU過大的負載!

 

CINEBENCH R15的OpenGL為19.32fps,CPU為321 cb。

 

【遊戲體驗】

以Z97-PK來說, 搭配隨便一張中階顯示卡以及G3258超頻, 在遊戲表現上都不錯! 所以大膽嘗試使用主機板搭載的內顯來進行以下遊戲測試。

● 看門狗

ECS Z97-PK實際體驗看門狗遊戲實況:

這款遊戲不愧是今年最夯的一款遊戲,不輸俠盜獵車手的故事情節,更是在多款遊戲平台中推出,主角艾登是一名駭客兼收尾人(Fixer),在芝加哥打擊犯罪與黑社會勢力。看門狗以 Ubisoft Montreal 的全新可擴展 Disrupt 引擎打造而成新遊戲引擎,將先進的繪圖、特效和技術帶入多個平台。測試顯示,要享受最高設定,無硬體反鋸齒的遊戲品質,至少需要 GeForce GTX 770,筆者用Intel內顯來進行遊戲,不是不能玩,而是玩起來沒辦法將細節等級、反射、陰影及水波等效果等表現出來,要享受最高設定與硬體反鋸齒帶來的遊戲品質,需要快速的 SLI 系統。雖畫面品質已自動偵測來說為低階,設定值接近其絕對最小值,等同於上一世代遊戲主機的畫質。建議降低螢幕解析度,以便啟用更多影響較明顯的設定,如環境光遮蔽、細節等級、反射、著色器、水波。此外「看門狗 (Watch Dogs)」全面支援頂級 GPU 以至已有四年之齡的 GPU 這一點值得讚賞。

 

● 星海爭霸2

ECS Z97-PK實際體驗星海爭霸2遊戲實況:

星海爭霸2使用DirectX 9與像素著色引擎2.0(Pixel Shader 2.0)規格,與DirectX 10完全相容,但是最終不使用DirectX 10特效,遊戲將利用Havok的物理引擎來讓[物體的碎片滑下斜坡」,以增進三維繪圖效率,並新增支援 NVIDIA 3D Vision 技術。以ECS Z97-PK玩即時遊戲,真的沒什麼大問題,最大的問題就是在多人即時對戰時的網路Lag現象,現在很多主機板都針對網路有進行封包最佳化的處理,ECS Z97-PK在這邊就略為不足一些,以單機或是4人連線來說,都還可以應付,若到8人以上的連線,就可能要犧牲一些特效功能了。

 

● 快打旋風4

ECS Z97-PK實際體驗終極快打旋風4遊戲實況:

以ECS Z97-PK玩從小到大的經典遊戲:終極快打旋風4,即使開啟1920 X 1080畫面還是很順暢,預設是開啟垂直同步、沒有抗鉅齒、動態模糊低、模型與階段質量都選高質量。本款遊戲的運作還是以2D格鬥方式進行,所以比較不吃顯示卡的資源,要是3D格鬥的話,也許就會有點吃力了。《終極快打旋風 4》是人氣格鬥遊戲《快打旋風 4》的最新改版,繼承先前版本內容進一步加以擴充強化,重新調整既有角色的平衡度,追加 5 名新登場角色、6 個新對戰關卡以及「雙重終極連續技」、「紅儲存攻擊」與「延遲起身」等新系統。由於猛毒(Poison)的攻守都是非常強力,加上又是辣妹角色,很快地就擄獲玩家的心了!

 

● 極速快感18

ECS Z97-PK實際體驗極速快感18遊戲實況:

以ECS Z97-PK玩極速快感18,這款遊戲採用了FPS射擊遊戲的3D引擎-寒霜2引擎(Frostbite Engine),但賽車遊戲果然是內顯的痛,玩起來真的沒有安裝獨立顯卡來的順,尤其在加速轉彎的時候,真的有點不太順手,很容易就會撞到護欄或是樹木,要是真的賽車的話,可是會鬧出人命的阿…,主要也是因幀數FPS值則鎖定在30,所以遇到一些大場面時畫面會不流暢。記得玩時把DirectX安裝到11.1以上吧!

 

【開箱心得分享】

能支援Intel第四代與第五代core CPU的ECS Z07-PK不愧是Z97晶片組中,C/P值最高的一片主機板,以目前9系列晶片組來說,X99無疑是拳擊場上的重量級,而Z97則偏向於輕量級,ECS Z97-PK可以稱之為Z97主機板中的幕之內一步,低調樸實的外觀設計,卻蘊藏著驚人的超頻能力,小看它可是馬上就會被KO的。以ECS Z97-PK硬體設計與用料來看,表現上算是中規中矩,全面採用高品質固態電容來提升穩定度,ECS獨家的Durathon逆襲技術,除了主機板PCB採雙向開纖設計外,更是通過極限溫差測試(-10℃~50℃)與高達1500項耐久性試驗,讓主機板更能抗潮,尤其對潮濕的台灣氣候來說,真的大大降低了故障率。此外ECS Z97-PK還具備PCI-E 3.0獨顯介面與三顯示輸出,搭配最大支援32GB的DDR3記憶體與高達6Gb/s的SATA3介面,絕對是玩遊戲不Lag的最強靠山,但沒附上Z97以引為傲的M.2介面,的確是可惜了些。軟體方面ECS自行研發的EZ套件:eBLU & eDLU能分別讓BIOS與Driver線上更新、eOC結合eSF更能協助玩家安全超頻不熱當,在行動裝置盛行的年代,EZ-Charge更是直接取代了充電器,最棒的是以上這些EZ套件,統統都可在Windows下運作唷~筆者簡單燒機並試玩了幾款遊戲,其中燒機測試超頻4700MHz,有些條件下有時會過不去,但超頻4400MHz就還算穩定,至於玩遊戲的表現,只使用Intel內顯,超頻4700MHz玩起來真的很順暢,也許玩遊戲不像燒機那麼嚴苛,後續存錢加滿RAM、插上獨險與加裝系統SSD,這台就當成我的遊戲平台了!說了那麼多,價格有多優?我想是注重C/P值的大眾所關心的,目前網路平台所查到的價格約在NT.2000元上下,再搭配可超頻的Intel CPU:G3258,無疑是物超所值的絕妙搭配!堪稱得上這個價位的CP值之王,更多資訊請上

ECS官方網站: http://www.ecs.com.tw

ECS粉絲團: https://www.facebook.com/ecstaiwan

˄TOP