Apr, 2015

LIVA X brings great interaction with your tablet – Chrome Remote Desktop V.S. TeamViewer

                                                           

Remote Desktop applications have already been well known to be the way to allow you to access to your home-used computer at any time you want. However, maybe because these applications give people an impression of being a bit difficult to be used with, not so many people bother to actually try them. Here I would like to turn the impression using the LIVA X mini-computer I recently received, and show you how easy is the idea to set a remote desktop application. With minimum steps, you will be able to setup a remote access between your tablet and the LIVA X, allowing you, for example, to play the video files stored in the LIVA X even you are on the road. Among so many remote desktop applications, my personal favorites are Google Chrome Remote Desktop and well-received Team Viewer.

Here I will use my iPad Air to demonstrate the steps. For Android users, the required app is available from Google Play Store.

 

Photo of the LIVA X


 

Photo of the iPAD Air



How to setup Chrome Remote Desktop

First, we need to install a copy of the Chrome Remote Desktop into the LIVA X computer.


Step 1. As the application’s name suggests, it is a free download and available from Chrome Web Store. Just go to the Google store, search for “Chrome Remote Desktop”, and click “+FREE” to start the download.

 

Step 2. Click “Add” to confirm that you want to add this app to your system.

 

Step 3. Once the app is downloaded and added properly, it will be listed in your chrome apps page.

 

Step 4. An authorization dialog will be shown when you activate the app for the first time. You need to give your authorization to go to the next step.


 

Step 5. If you have not logged in to your Google account, the system will prompt you to do so.


 

Step 6. Click “Accept” here to allow the remote desktop app to identify your computer.


 

Step 7. Click “Get started” from the column “My computers” to start setting the app and how it accesses your computer.


 

Step 8. Click “Enable remote connections”. A warning dialog will prompt you the confirmation for download. Click “Yes” to start the download and installation.


 

Step 9. Set a six-digit PIN code. Later you will be asked to enter this same PIN code from your tablet.


 

Step 10. Retype the PIN code again to confirm it. You have finished the setup on the LIVA X.


 

You can check the following video for how to do the above steps.


Next I will use my iPad Air to show you how to set the mobile version of Chrome Remote Desktop on your tablet.


Step 1. To get the mobile version of Google Chrome Remote Desktop, you can use the key words –“Chrome Remote Desktop”- to search for the app, and download it form the search result.


 

Step 2. After finishing the download, start the app. You may not believe it when you see it, but the only thing in the start screen is the sign-in button only. Click the button to sing in with your Google Account password.


 

Step 3. Type in the PIN code (the one you set for your computer previously) and tap “Connect”.


 

Step 4. A connection to the remote LIVA X will be established. And, let’s play a video clip stored in the LIVA X.


 

You can check the following video for how to do the above steps.





It is quite straight forward to establish the connection between the iPad Air and LIVAX when using Chrome remote desktop. However, as you can see from the above two screenshots, the video screen is out of the display range on the left and right sides, and there are two black bars above and below the screen. This is because that Chrome remote desktop has not yet supported full-screen feature for mobile devices. The video playback can be quite smooth if not for the slow internet connection. The one thing that disappoints me is no audio output for video playback.

 

Next, we are going to talk about my favorite TeamViewer.

First, install TeamViewer into the LIVA X computer


On the LIVA X (your computer side), search the app with the keyword “TeamViewer” using your browser, download it and finish the installation.

Step1. Once the installation is done, a set of ID and password will be generated for the LIVA X (or your computer). When you attempt to remotely login to this computer from any remote device, all you need is to enter the ID and password, and things will be done.


 

Next we are going to install the mobile version of TeamViewer to your mobile device (my iPad Air)

Also from AppStore, select “TeamViewer: Remote Control” to download it and finish the installation.


Step1. Once the installation is completed, TeamViewer’s icon will be added to the desktop.


 

Step2. Tap the icon to start the app. You will see the screen as shown below. Enter the ID and password generated for the remote computer.


 

Step 3. Before the connection starts, the app will forget to remind you that you can use the tablet gestures to control the remote computer (so nice!!).


 

Step 4. After login, you will see the desktop of the LIVA X computer if the connection is established successfully. In here, we are going to play a video clip stored in the LIVA X computer as well.



You can check the following video for how to do the above steps.




As you can see from the two images above, the whole part of the video screen is displayed without being cut on the left and right sides, and there is no black bar on either above or below of the screen. This is what’s great about TeamViewer. It can automatically adjust and choose the best video resolution for mobile devices, just like for my iPad Air.


Here is a simple list that compares the two remote desktop apps.


Conclusion:

After using the two apps and make the list to show the differences between them, we can find:

TeamViewer is capable of adjusting and choose the right video resolution when you try to play video on an iPad Air. On the other hand, Chrome Remote Desktop just plays the video without altering the original resolution of the video, causing the video’s left and right being cut off and the black bars on its above and below. Only TeamViewer can playback the video along with its audio. Also, TeamViewer provides more features than Chrome Remote Desktop does. Both apps show no sign of choppy video playback if the Internet connection is fairly stable. Incidentally, while you can get a copy of Chrome Remote Desktop for free, you need to pay for the full version of TeamViewer.


As for the support for multi-platform, Chrome Remote Desktop, once only available for Android, now has just added iOS to its supported list recently. As a Mac fan, I feel so glad to see the iOS version coming, and now I finally can tinkle with Windows system using my iOS device. But I have to say that TeamViewer already has such support included for a very long time, and that no wander TeamViewer has so many loyal fans.


When talking about security, Chrome Remote Desktop has better measure because it is tied up with your mobile device’s default Google account and PIN code to make sure only you can use the app to remotely control the remote computer (the LIVA X). As for TeamViewer, anyone that has correct ID and password can connect your computer, and you need to be very cautious when you provide the ID and password to any of your friends.


Both apps are designed and customized for mobile devices, and bring the benefit and enjoyment of remote control to IT users. If I have to choose any of them, I’ll go for TeamViewer. I am not saying one is better than the other, and it’s all up to you decide which one you prefer.


By utilizing the remote control technology, my iPad Air can quickly become a “wireless monitor” of the LIVAX computer. Considering the LIVA X comes with all the required features, all you need is to activate the multiplayer feature provided by your remote desktop app, and then you can share video or even briefing with your friends or coworkers at different locations at the same time. Just go and try it yourself. When I was playing with the two remote desktop apps, I found that the LIVA X was so easy to use and simplified the process of remote access and playback. I am so impressed with the LIVA X that I will not go anywhere without it!!


The compact LIVA X is Just 135mm wide, supports WiFi and Bluetooth features, and provides one USB 3.0 and two USB 2.0 ports. If interested, you can check out the details by clicking here



Finally, put on my charming picture!!

˄TOP

Apr, 2015

LIVA X與平板的絕佳互動 – Chrome Remote Desktop V.S. TeamViewer

遠端桌面應用相信很多人對它已不陌生,它能方便我們隨時隨地可連回自家電腦讀取資料檔案。雖然方便但很多人卻以為操作困難而望之卻步,我就以最近剛入手的LIVA X迷你電腦,來分享簡易的設定步驟。 透過簡單的設定步驟,就可以使用平板與LIVA X遠端連線,讓自己即便在外,也可以隨時觀看影片;遠端桌面這方面的軟體不少,但個人非常推薦Google Chrome遠端桌面及很多人推崇的Team Viewer。

以下皆已iPad Air做示範,Android用戶請改在Google Play搜尋並下載。

 

LIVA X 照片


 

iPAD Air照片



Chrome遠端桌面設定

首先安裝LIVA X (電腦端) 的Chrome 遠端桌面程式


Step 1. Chrome 遠端桌面從字面上就可以知道,可以免費在Chrome Web Store下載,想要使用此項功能,首先便是到Google商店搜尋 “Chrome 遠端桌面”,並且點選 +FREE進行下載。

 

Step 2. 點選 ”Add” 確認要新增此應用程式

 

Step 3. 新增完後便可在Chrome的應用程式裡看到Chrome遠端桌面。

 

Step 4. 在正式開始使用前,需要同意授權才能繼續下一步。


 

Step 5. 如果你還未登入Google 帳號,會先請你登入。


 

Step 6. 點擊 “Accept” 同意遠端桌面識別您的電腦。


 

Step 7. 點擊 “我的電腦” 的 “Get started” 來開始設定遠端桌面存取自己的電腦。


 

Step 8. 點擊 “Enable remote connections”,會出現需下載安裝程式畫面,請點擊執行安裝。


 

Step 9. 設定6碼以上PIN碼,於後面的步驟中也必須輸入相同的PIN碼到平板上。


 

Step 10. 再次輸入剛設定的PIN碼,LIVA X(電腦端)設定完成。


 

步驟可參考以下影片


再來設定行動裝置端(iPad Air)安裝行動版Chrome 遠端桌面


Step 1. Google Chrome遠端桌面行動版本可以在AppStore搜尋Chrome Remote Desktop,找到Chrome Remote Desktop下載。


 

Step 2. 下載後打開App,不要被上圖的乾淨明瞭所嚇到,真的就是只有“登入”這個按鈕;系統會請你輸入Google Account密碼。


 

Step 3. 需再次輸入之前所設定的PIN碼,按 “連線”。


 

Step 4. 與LIVA X連線成功,播放LIVA X 迷你電腦裡的一段影片。


 

步驟可參考以下影片





透過Chrome remote desktop由iPad Air連線到LIVA X 相當順利,但可以從上面兩張圖看到顯示畫面本身有裁切及黑邊的情形,這是因為chrome遠端桌面無法在行動裝置全螢幕播放,不過播放還算是相當流暢,大多會受到網路速度而有所延遲的情形,另外可惜的是無法輸出聲音。

 

再來介紹個人也非常愛用的TeamViewer

首先一樣於LIVA X 電腦端安裝TeamViewer


在LIVA X(電腦端)使用瀏覽器搜尋TeamViewer軟體下載並安裝。

Step 1. 安裝後執行,LIVA X(電腦端)即自動產生ID及密碼,若要用其他Device遠端連線,只需輸入這兩組數字,便可遠端連線LIVA X。


 

再來設定行動裝置端(iPad Air)安裝行動版Chrome 遠端桌面

一樣在AppStore輸入後,選擇 “TeamViewer: Remote Control” 下載並安裝。


Step 1. 安裝完成後於平板桌面出現 TeamViewer 圖示。


 

Step 2. 點擊執行App後,便可看到上方的介面,需要輸入遠端控制電腦之ID及密碼。


 

Step 3. 開始連線前,軟體還會提醒可以使用手勢來控制裝置(很貼心 XD)。


 

Step 4. 登入後,立即可看到LIVA X電腦端的桌面表示連線成功, 一樣播放LIVA X 迷你電腦裡的一段影片。



步驟可參考以下影片




可以由上面兩張圖看出沒有黑邊或是畫面裁切的情形,這也算是TeamViewer的最大的優點, 能自動調整到適合iPad Air等行動裝置解析度。


簡單列出兩個遠端桌面軟體的差異表


結論:

在使用完兩個遠端控制的軟體並將差異性做成表格後,可以發現到下列幾點:

TeamViewer會針對iPad Air做解析度上的調整,Chrome Remote則是將螢幕解析度原原本本做呈現,導致畫面仍有裁切及黑邊的情形;聲音的傳輸則只有TeamViewer可以;而功能方面,TeamViewer也是勝過Chrome Remote;影像輸出上在網路穩定的環境下並沒有太明顯的延遲問題。附帶一提Chrome Remote是完全免費, TeamViewer的進階版本則是需付費的。


在跨平台支援的部份,Chrome Remote Desktop 在近期推出iOS版本(之前只有出Android版本),身為蘋果迷的我,還是覺得大開心~~總算能用iOS系統玩Windows了。但不得不說TeamViewer很早前就能跨平台支援,難怪有不少它的忠實粉絲 !!


安全性上,Chrome Remote Desktop會綁行動裝置上的預設Google 帳號,確保本人使用並需輸入PIN碼才能遙控電腦端(LIVA X)相對安全;而TeamViewer是只要有輸入ID及密碼便可連線, 提供給朋友時要特別謹慎小心。


這兩種軟體都為了因應行動裝置而做了調整,造福了廣大的3C同胞,但就以我的觀點來看,我只能說我還是比較喜歡使用TeamViewer軟體,總之~就端看個人喜好囉~ 呵


有了遠端技術讓iPad Air 瞬間成了LIVAX的”行動螢幕” , LIVA X 該有的功能都有, 再搭配遠端桌面軟體的多人連線功能,就可以讓多人在不同地點同時觀看影片;更不用說能作為多人遠端簡報的平台,大家也可以來玩玩看囉。這次使用LIVA X體驗遠端桌面應用,充分體會到它的便利性,再配合遠端應用,輕鬆存取,輕鬆看,下次我就要帶著LIVA X 趴趴走了~!!


LIVA X尺寸小,寬僅有135mm,有WiFi 及藍芽,而且提供1個USB3.0及2個USB2.0 Port等等, 有興趣的朋友也可以參考看看喔。



最後來張我帥氣的背包客照!!

˄TOP